Here’s what workers need to know about Washington state’s new overtime protections

Starting in about six months, for the first time in more than 15 year, salaried workers in Washington state who earn more than $23,700 a year will be eligible for overtime pay.

The new overtime protections, finalized last week by Washington’s Department of Labor & Industries, are the first step in an eight-year plan to compensate workers for all of the hours they work.

On July 1, 2020, workers making up to $35,100 per year will be entitled to time-and-a-half pay for every hour worked over 40 hours per week. Six months after that, the threshold will jump to about $43,000 for workers at smaller companies and about $50,000 for those at larger employers.

Image credit: Washington Department of Labor & Industries

The threshold will continue to rise incrementally until it reaches 2.5 times the state minimum wage–about $83,400 in 2028–and then continue to rise with inflation, according to a Washington L&I fact sheet on the new rule. By that point, nearly 260,000 Washington workers will become eligible for overtime.

Emery Reddy helps workers. Call us if you have an L&I, unfair pay practices, workers’ comp, injury, or employment law claim. You won’t get better advice.

« | »